IAABO Board 12 Officials
  • Home
  • About Us
  • Rules & Interpretation
  • Training & Development
  • For Members

NFHS Quiz

5/11/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
Excellent Quiz by Goht Van Der Brink
True/False 
Q1: A1 and B1 get into a fight. The penalty differs between substitutes who leave the bench and participate in the fight versus those who only leave the bench. The difference is reflected in the number of indirect technical fouls charged to the head coach.
 
Scenario for Questions 2–5:
Post players A1 and B1 begin punching each other, and play is stopped.
 
Q2: Both players are charged with flagrant fouls and disqualified. Each team will have a substitute shoot free throws for the opponent’s disqualified player.
 
Q3: Subs A6, A7, A8 and B6, B7, B8 leave the bench area and come onto the court. Only B6 becomes involved in the fight. All substitutes are charged with flagrant technical fouls and are disqualified. No free throws are awarded.
 
Q4: Team A’s head coach is charged with one indirect technical foul as a consequence of substitutes A6, A7, and A8 leaving the bench area.
 
Q5: Team B’s head coach is charged with two indirect technical fouls — one for players leaving the bench and one for substitute B6 becoming involved in the fight.
 
 
 
Answers:
Q1: True If substitutes only leave the bench, the head coach is charged with one indirect technical foul, regardless of how many substitutes were involved. However, if any substitutes also participate in the fight, the head coach is charged an additional indirect technical foul for each one.(10-5 Penalty)
Q2: False. When both players are charged with flagrant personal fouls, the result is a double foul, and no free throws are awarded. Play resumes with a throw-in to the team entitled to the ball at the point of interruption.(C.B 10.5.5 Situation A)
Q3: True. Since the number of penalized bench personnel is the same for both teams, the penalties offset, and no free throws are awarded for simultaneous technical fouls.(10-5 Penalty )
Q4: True (0-5 Penalty, 10-6 Note)
Q5: True – one indirect Tech for players leaving the bench, and one for B6 becoming involved in the fight. (10-5 Penalty, 10-6 Note )

NFHS Quiz

5/11/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
1. On a throw-in, A1 throws the ball off the back of B1, gets one foot down inbounds and the other foot is in the air outside the boundary line and A1 recovers the ball. This is legal. T-F
 
2. In question #1, the game clock starts when A1 recovers the ball. T-F
 
3. In question #1, the shot clock starts when the ball touches the back of B1. T-F
 
4. A1 catches a pass and immediately passes to A2 who is cutting in the other direction. A1 runs after bouncing the ball and recovers it with both hands. The Trail Official rules a traveling violation. T-F
 
5. A1 starts a try, before the ball is released, A3 commits an illegal screen on B3. Continuous Motion applies on this play. T-F
 
 
 
Answers:
1. True-4-35-1-a, CB-4.35.1. Teaching Point- Master Definitions. 
2. False- 5-9-4. Teaching Point- Have Game Clock Awareness. 
3. True- Shot Clock- Page-75- NFHS- Teaching Point- Have Shot Clock Awareness.
4. False- 4-15-1. Teaching Point- Master Definitions and Rule Differences. 
5. False- 4-11-1. Teaching Point- Crew Dynamics are so crucial. 

NFHS Quiz

5/3/2025

 

​NFHS Edition
1. Once a defender obtains a legal guarding position on the court, they may move laterally or backwards, but not forward into their opponent. T-F
 
2. A defender can be in a legal guarding position with one foot on the floor and one foot on the sideline. T-F
 
3. A defender can have a stayed hand on the dribbler. T-F
 
4. A1 is attempting the first of a two free throws. B3 and A3 simultaneously violate along the lane. The game will continue with A1’s second free throw. T-F 
 
5. Free thrower A1 fakes the release of the free throw. No one along the lane steps in early. This is not a free throw violation. T-F
 
 
 
Answers:
1. True-4-23-3-c. Teaching Point- When a player is dribbling , officiate 70% defense and 30 % offense.
2. False-4-23-2-a. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences. 
3. False- 10-7-12-c. Teaching Point- Enforce Freedom of Movement.
4. True- 9-1- Penalty-3. Teaching Point- Know where play will be resumed. 
5. False- 9-1-3-b. Teaching Point- Be ready for the unexpected. 
 
_._,_._,_

NFHS Quuz

4/22/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
1. B1 intentionally slaps the backboard while the ball is on the ring. This causes the ball to roll off the ring. The center official rules a technical foul on B1. T-F
 
2. A1 attempts a three point try, B5 goal-tends on the play. Team B will receive the ball on the end line with all privileges. T-F
 
3. During an AP throw-in, thrower-in A1 steps on the court and violates. The officials have  the scorer reverse the AP Arrow towards Team B’s basket. T-F
 
4. A1 attempts a try, while the ball is in flight, A3 excessively swings their arms and elbows and makes no contact with any player. The try goes in the basket. The try should be canceled and Team B will receive the ball at the spot of the violation. T-F
 
5. A1 attempts a try, while the ball is in flight, B3 excessively swings their arms and elbows and makes no contact with any player. The try goes in the basket. The basket counts and Team A receives the ball at the spot of the violation. T-F
 
 
Answers:
1. True- 10-4-b. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences. 
2. True- 7-5-7. Teaching Point- Know your resumption of play. 
3. True- 6-4-5. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness.
4. True- CB-9.13.1 Situation A. Teaching Point- Read 5 Case Book plays every day. Know Rule Differences. 
5. True-CB-9.13.1 Situation A. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences. 

NFHS Quiz

4/14/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
1. A5 is flagrantly fouled by B5 during a live ball. The ruling should be a:
a. Flagrant Personal Foul.
b. Flagrant Technical Foul.
 
2. A flagrant foul can only be a technical foul. T-F
 
3. A flagrant foul may or may not be intentional. T-F
 
4. B5 pushes A5 flagrantly when the ball is dead. A5 must shoot the flagrant foul. T-F
 
5. What fouls are cancelled during an unmerited free throw:
a. Intentional.
b. Common.
c. Flagrant.
 
 
Answers:
1. a- 4-19-4, 4-19-1. Teaching Point- Master Definitions. 
2. False- 4-19-4. Teaching Point- Master Definitions. 
3. True-4-19-4. Teaching Point- Master Definitions. 
4. False- 8-3. Teaching Point- Be detailed oriented.
5. b- 2-10-4. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness. 

NFHS Quiz

4/10/2025

 

NFHS Quiz

​NFHS Edition
1. A1 ends their dribble in the backcourt, A1 throws a pass that crosses the division line. When the ball crosses the division line the shot clock is at 21 seconds. A3 catches the pass in the front court at 20 seconds. Once the ball crossed the division line, the 10 second count ended. T-F
 
2. The following is when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in:
a. When the ball is bounced to the thrower-in.
b. When the ball is placed on the floor at the spot.
 
3. The following is when the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower:
a. When the ball is handed to the free thrower.
b. When the ball is caught by the free thrower after it is bounced to the player.
c. a & b.
 
4. The visitors should have choice of baskets before the game. T-F
 
5. B1 fouls A1. Team A is in the bonus, but the officials erroneously award the ball for Team A for a throw-in. A1’s throw-in is intercepted by B5 who scores on a lay-up. A1’s throw-in is controlled by A2 who dribbles into Team A’s front court and asks for a timeout. During the timeout, the scorer advises  the referee that Team A was in the bonus when B1 fouled A1. The error is correctable. T-F
 
 
Answers:
1. False- 4-4-3. Teaching Point- Have good crew dynamics. 
2. b- 4-4-7-c. Teaching Point- Master Definitions. 
3. c- 4-4-7-a & b. Teaching Point- Master Definitions. 
4. False- 4-5. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences & Have Court Awareness. 
5. False- CB-2.10.2- Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness.

NFHS Quiz

4/5/2025

 

​NFHS Edition
1. At least 10 minutes before the scheduled starting time of the game, each team shall supply the official scorer with the name and number of each team member and designate the five starting players. T-F
 
2. In question #1, failure to do this is a:
a. Technical Foul to the Head Coach.
b. Administrative Technical Foul.
 
3. A1 is performing an AP throw-in. During the throw-in, A5 pushes B5 to get open. The Center Official rules a:
a. Player Control Foul.
b. Team Control Foul.
 
4. In question #3, the AP Arrow should not be switched. T-F
 
5. The only infractions for which points are awarded are _______ by the defense or basket interference at the opponents basket. 
 
 
 
 
Answers:
1. True-3-2-1. Teaching Point- Be detailed oriented.
2. b-10-10-1. Teaching Point- Master Penalties. 
3. b-4-19-7. Teaching Point- Master Penalties.
4. True- 6-4-6. Teaching Point- Know Resumption of Play.
5. Goal-Tending- 5-2-4. Teaching Point- Be detailed oriented. 
_._,_._,_

NFHS Quiz

3/26/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
1. The official is ready to toss the ball to begin the game. A5 who was on the center restraining circle backs off the circle. The U1 rules a jump ball violation. T-F
 
2. The official is ready to toss the ball to begin the game. A5 moves on the center restraining circle into an unoccupied spot.  This is legal. T-F
 
3. A period is over when the game clock shows 0:00 and the horn has not sounded. T-F
 
4.  On a dead ball, A5 taunts B5 and then B5 throws the ball at A5. Team B will attempt two free throws, then Team A will receive two free throws and the ball at the division line away from the table. T-F
 
5. A technical foul is an intentional or flagrant contact while the ball is dead, except a foul by the airborne shooter. T-F
 
 
Answers:
1. False- CB-6.3.2.(a). Situation- Teaching Point-Read 5 Case Book plays every day. 
2. False- CB-6.3.q.(b). Situation- Teaching Point- Start your game correctly.
3. False- 5-6-2. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences. 
4. True- 4-19-9. Teaching Point- When the ball is dead be alive. 
5. True- 4-19-5. Teaching Point- Master Definitions. 

NFHS Quiz

3/19/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
1. B1 fouls A1. Team A is in the bonus. Just before A1 goes to the free throw line for the bonus, the official observes A1 untucking their shirt. Handle the Situation?
 
2. In question #1, if A1 makes their final free throw, can Team B run the end line. Yes-No
 
3. In question #1, if A1 makes their first free throw and misses their final free throw, can Team B run the end line. Yes-No
 
4. Guarding an opponent with the ball or a stationary opponent without the ball, no time or distance is required to obtain an initial legal position. T-F
 
5. A timeout can be requested by the:
a. The Head Coach.
b. Assistant Coach.
c. a & b.
 
 
Answers:
1. A1 will be directed to tuck their jersey in. A1 must  leave the game immediately following the last free throw. The free throw lane spaces are cleared for the free throws. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in. CB-3.3.5. Situation A- Teaching Point- Read 5 Case Book plays every day and have common sense. 
2. Yes- 7-5-7. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness. 
3. No-7-5-7. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness. 
4. True- 4-23-4-a. Teaching Point- When a player is dribbling the ball officiate 70% defense and 30 % offense. 
5. a-5-8-3. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness. 

NFHS- Excellent Quiz by Goht Van Den Brink

3/8/2025

 
Situation: During the 2nd quarter, A1 is fouled but is erroneously not awarded two bonus free throws. Instead, Team A is given a throw-in. Thrower-in A1 inbounds the ball to A2, and a held ball occurs. The AP arrow is pointing towards Team A. True or False ?Q1: This is a correctable error situation, and it is within the time frame to correct it. 
Q2: A1 will be awarded the two bonus free throws.
Q3: Players will line up for the free throw, and the game will resume after the second shot.
Q4: The possession arrow will not change, and Team A will retain the AP arrow. 
Q5: If the AP arrow had been pointing to Team B instead, how would the situation be handled?
Q1: True (Rule 2-10-1a, 2-10-2) Failure to award a merited free throw is a correctable error. The officials must recognize the error no later than the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. In this case, the clock starts when A2 and the opponent touch the ball, and it stops when the held ball occurs.
Q2: True.
Q3: True (Rule 2-10-6) Once the error is corrected, play resumes from the point of interruption unless the correction involves awarding merited free throws and there has been no change in team control since the error. In this case, because Team A retained the AP arrow, play will resume as it would after any free-throw attempt.
Q4: True (Case Book 2.10.1 Situation C)
Q5: A1 would shoot the bonus free throws with no players lined up, and Team B would receive the ball for an AP throw-in. (Case Book 2.10.1 Situation C)
<<Previous

    Al Battista

    Al Battista is regarded as one of the most knowledgeable experts in the field of basketball rules at all levels.  In addition to this, he is a well-known clinician and observer of officials.   Currently, he is Maryland State and Board 12 Interpreter for scholastic basketball.  He has served as an officials’ observer for the NBA and WNBA and is currently the NBA chief scout for officials in the Northeast USA.

    Archives

    May 2025
    April 2025
    March 2025
    February 2025
    January 2025
    December 2024
    November 2024
    October 2024
    September 2024
    August 2024
    July 2024
    June 2024
    May 2024
    April 2024
    March 2024
    February 2024
    January 2024
    December 2023
    November 2023
    October 2023
    September 2023
    August 2023
    July 2023
    June 2023
    May 2023
    April 2023
    March 2023
    February 2023
    January 2023
    December 2022
    November 2022
    October 2021
    November 2020
    October 2020
    September 2020
    August 2020
    July 2020
    June 2020
    May 2020
    April 2020
    March 2020
    February 2020
    January 2020
    December 2019
    November 2019
    October 2019

    Categories

    All

Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.