IAABO Board 12 Officials
  • Home
  • About Us
  • Rules & Interpretation
  • Training & Development
  • For Members

Quiz

6/29/2020

0 Comments

 










 1.A1 is called for a common foul, and it is A5’s fifth personal foul. A1 properly leaves the game after receiving this fifth and disqualifying foul. Later in the game, A1 reports to the table to check back into the game. Neither the official scorer nor the officials recognize that A1 had previously been disqualified, and they allow A1 to re-enter the game. After a few minutes have run off the game clock and (a) after A1 had checked back out of the game, or (b) while A1 is still in the game, the scorer notifies the officials that A1 had been disqualified, but participated again in the game. What is the result? 


2. A5 and B5 foul each other in the post simultaneously. A5’s foul is intentional. The following are true statements.
a. B5 will shoot two free throws.
b. The game will continue with the AP Arrow and no free throws.
c. The game will continue from the point of interruption and no free throws.




 3. Team A has the ball in its backcourt, and team B is in a full-court press. A1 has the ball and attempts a long pass to A2, who is near the free-throw line in team A’s frontcourt. The pass is not a good one, is not heading directly to A2 and is floating in the air for a long time. Both A2 and B3 break quickly toward where the ball is coming back to the playing court. Both players are moving rapidly, jump and reach for the ball, and collide in midair. Both players reached that point on the court at the same time while attempting to reach the errant pass, and both did nothing more than jump in an effort to catch the pass. The contact is severe, and both players fall hard to the ground. Shall the severe contact result in a foul, and if so, on whom shall the foul be called? 


 4. A1 is fouled by B2 near the division line, and team A is in the bonus. Prior to A1’s free throws being attempted, B3 shoves A4, followed by A5 shoving B3. Handle the Situation ?






 5. A1 is fouled while dribbling the ball, and team A is in the bonus. The officials fail to award A1 bonus free throws. Instead, team A is awarded a throw-in. Team A completes the throw-in, and A2 scores a basket. Team B inbounds the ball, moves the ball down the court, and the ball is deflected out of bounds by A3. At this time, the official timer sounds the horn as team A’s coach has made an appeal to the official scorer to have the error corrected. Can the error be corrected, and if not, what is the result?
















Answers:


 1. Participating after being disqualified results in a technical foul. The technical foul is only penalized if it is discovered while being violated. Therefore, in (a), since A1 was no longer in the game, no technical foul shall be assessed. In (b), a technical foul shall be charged directly to team A’s head coach, A1 shall be removed from the game, team B shall receive two free throws and a division line throw in (10-6-3, 10.6.3). 


2. c- 4-36-1.


 3. Contact that is incidental in an effort by opponents to reach a loose ball, or contact that results when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive movement should be permitted even though the contact may be severe or excessive. Since A2 and B3 were both making an attempt to catch the ball and both were in equally favorable positions to catch the ball, the resulting contact is simply incidental contact, and no foul shall be called on either player. The fact that the contact was severe and led to both players going hard to the ground is not relevant. A no-call is the correct call on this play (4-27-2). 


 4. B3 and A5 shall each be assessed contact dead-ball technical fouls for that unnecessary contact during a dead ball. The free throws shall be shot in the order in which the fouls occurred, all of which with no players lined up in the marked lane spaces. A1 shall shoot the bonus free throws for B2’s common foul, followed by any team A player shooting free throws for B3’s technical foul, followed by any team B player shooting free throws for A5’s technical foul. Since the last contact dead-ball technical was by A5, team B shall receive a division-line throw-in after the final free throw (4-19-5c, 7-5-6a, 8-6-2, 10-4-7 Pen.).  


 5.When the officials error by failing to award a merited free throw, the error is correctable, but the error must be recognized and corrected by an official during the first dead ball after the game clock properly started. The first dead ball was after A2’s successful goal. Once team B had the ball at its disposal for the ensuing throw-in, it is too late to correct the error. Therefore, the error shall not be corrected. One 60-second timeout or one 30-second timeout, when all 60-second timeouts have been used, shall be charged to team A (2-10-1a, 2-10-2, 5-8-4, 5-11-4).


0 Comments

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Picture

    Al Battista

    Al Battista is regarded as one of the most knowledgeable experts in the field of basketball rules at all levels.  In addition to this, he is a well-known clinician and observer of officials.   Currently, he is Maryland State and Board 12 Interpreter for scholastic basketball.  He has served as an officials’ observer for the NBA and WNBA and is currently the NBA chief scout for officials in the Northeast USA.

    Archives

    January 2023
    December 2022
    November 2022
    October 2021
    November 2020
    October 2020
    September 2020
    August 2020
    July 2020
    June 2020
    May 2020
    April 2020
    March 2020
    February 2020
    January 2020
    December 2019
    November 2019
    October 2019

    Categories

    All

Quick Links

Picture

Need Officials

Picture

Contact Us

Picture

Calendar

Picture

Become an Official

Picture

Technical Form

Our mailing address:

IAABO Board 12
10606 Cavalier Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20901

Contact Webmaster
Copyright 2020 by The District of Columbia Approved Basketball Officials Association