IAABO Board 12
  • Home
  • About Us
  • Rules & Interpretation
  • Training & Development
  • For Members

NF Quiz

7/11/2020

0 Comments

 
​In the first half during a team A throw-in, B1 is guarding the thrower-in, reaches through the boundary line before the ball is released, and the official properly blows the whistle and issues a delay warning. In the second half, after a successful goal by team B, B2 interferes with the ball by knocking it away from A3, who was attempting to grab the ball to make the throw-in. Handle the Situation?

2. Following team A’s successful goal, team B inbounds the ball with 2:30 on the game clock. Team A is in a full-court press, team B still has the ball in its backcourt, and B1 calls a timeout when the official’s 10-second backcourt count is at nine seconds. Following the timeout, B1 completes the throw-in to B2, who is in team B’s backcourt. B2 holds ball for one second such that the official’s count is at one second. The official calls a 10-second backcourt violation. Is this correct?

3. A1 is injured during the game, and the official blows the whistle to stop play. Team A’s head coach chooses to replace A1 with substitute A6 and does so within the time limit. No other substitutes are at the table when A6 reports and enters the game. Team B’s coach recognizes A6 is entering the game and sends B7 to the table to enter the game prior to the ball becoming live. Shall B7 be allowed to enter the game during this dead-ball period?

4. A1 attempts a try. The ball comes to rest on the ring. B1 grabs the ring and does not prevent themselves from injury. The following are True Statements:
a. The basket counts.
b. B1 should be charged with a technical foul.
c. Team A will receive “2” shots and the ball at the division away from the scorers table.
d. All of the Above.

5. Intentional foul can only be a personal foul. T-F.

Answers:
1. Charge Team B with a technical foul, Team A will receive two free throws and the ball at the division line away from the scoring table. 4-47-1, 10-2-b,c,g.
2. No- Team B would receive a new “10” second count because team control ended. 4-12-3c, 9-8.
3. Yes- 3-3-1-d.
4. d- Case Book-9.11.1. Situation B.
5. False- 4-19-3
0 Comments

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Picture

    Al Battista

    Al Battista is regarded as one of the most knowledgeable experts in the field of basketball rules at all levels.  In addition to this, he is a well-known clinician and observer of officials.   Currently, he is Maryland State and Board 12 Interpreter for scholastic basketball.  He has served as an officials’ observer for the NBA and WNBA and is currently the NBA chief scout for officials in the Northeast USA.

    Archives

    November 2020
    October 2020
    September 2020
    August 2020
    July 2020
    June 2020
    May 2020
    April 2020
    March 2020
    February 2020
    January 2020
    December 2019
    November 2019
    October 2019

    Categories

    All

Quick Links

Picture

Directions

Picture

Need Officials

Picture

Contact Us

Picture

Calendar

Picture

Become an Official

Picture

Technical Form

Our mailing address:

IAABO Board 12
10606 Cavalier Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20901

Contact Webmaster
Copyright 2020 by The District of Columbia Approved Basketball Officials Association