IAABO Board 12 Officials
  • Home
  • About Us
  • Rules & Interpretation
  • Training & Development
  • For Members

NFHS New Rule Quiz

7/28/2024

 
1. A3 dunks in warmups. This is a team technical foul charged to Team A. T-F

2. In question #1, the technical foul is not charged indirectly to the Head Coach of Team A. T-F

3. At the 10 minute mark, Team A has not supplied the official scorer with the name and number of each team member. At the 5 minute mark, B4 dunks in warmups. Both of these technical fouls will offset and the game will continue with a center jump. T-F

4. In question #3, each team is charged with one team foul. T-F

5. While going after a loose ball, A1 and B1 collide and the ball goes out of bounds. A1 clutches their knee, at which point, the officials beckon Team A’s Head Coach onto the floor. Team A’s Head Coach does not come onto the floor. Team A must substitute for A1; or request a timeout to keep A1 in the game. T-F







Answers:
1. True- 10-2-7. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences. 
2. True- 10-2-7. Teaching Point- Master Penalties.
3. True- 10-5-1-Penalty- Teaching Point- Master Penalties. 
4. True- 10-5-1-Penalty- Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness. 
5. True-3-3-6. Teaching Point- Have Substitution Awareness.

New Rules Quiz

7/27/2024

 



1. A1 is driving to the basket and B3 “flops” on the play. The ruling official gives the flopping signal and lets the game continue. A1 misses the try and B4 secures the rebound. Team B has been previously warned for faking being fouled. The ruling official stops plays and rules a team technical foul on Team B. T-F


2. A3 is ruled for traveling. A3 does not immediately pass the ball to the nearer official. Team A has had a previous warning. A3 will be ruled for a player technical foul. T-F

3. A1 is dribbling near the sideline. The Head Coach of Team A pushes A1 so they remain inbounds. The trail official rules an out of bounds violation on A1. T-F

4. A1 is dribbling on the perimeter and “head bobs” B1. Team A has been warned for faking being fouled. The Trail Official rules a team technical foul on Team A. T-F

5. A1’s try is in the basket but has not cleared the bottom of the net when A2 anticipating the try being missed, jumps and makes contact with the net. The touching of the net has no effect on the ball. The Center Official “no calls” the play. T-F












Answers:
1. True- 4-49,10-2-1-g, 10-4-6f. Teaching Point- Be a discerner and not a reactor.  
2. False- 4-47-5, 10-2-1-g, 10-4-5b. Teaching Point- Master Penalties. 
3. True- 7-1-1. Teaching Point- Be ready for the unexpected. 
4. True- 4-49,10-2-1g, 10-4-6f. Teaching Point- Master New Rules. 
5. True-4-6-1-Exception. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences & Similarities. 
Sent from my iPad

New Rules

7/26/2024

 
​1. A1 is driving to the basket and B3 “flops” on the play. A1 drives to the basket and scores on a lay-up. The Center Official gives the “flop” signal and allows the play to continue.

2. In question #1, if this is the first time this “flop” occurred, Team B shall be warned. T-F

3. When officials rule a “flopping” warning, the ruling official shall notify the offending Head Coach and the Official Scorer. T-F

4. In question #1, if Team B has been warned and the same scenario occurs, it’s a technical charged to the player. T-F

5. A1 attempts a “3” point try and while the try is in flight A1 “flops” on the play. Team A has not been warned for faking being foul. A1’s try is successful. The ruling official blows their whistle immediately and gives a warning for faking being fouled and reports the warning to the official scorer and the Head Coach of Team A. T-F











Answers:
1. True- 4-49,10-2-1-g, 10-4-6f- Teaching Point- Enforce New Rule Changes.
2. True-4-49, 10-2-1-g,10-4-6f- Teaching Point- Review Penalties.
3. True-4-49,10-2-1-g,10-4-6f- Teaching Point- Be detailed oriented.
4. False- 4-49, 10-2-1-g, 10-4-6f. Teaching Point- Master Penalties.
5. True- 4-49, 10-2-1-g, 10-4-6f. Teaching Point- On jump shots, take the defender and the offender up and down to the floor.







NFHS Quiz

7/26/2024

 
NFHS Edition
1. A1 is in the act of shooting, B3 fouls A3, the try is successful. Does the basket count. Yes-No
 
2. A1’s try is in flight, B3 fouls A3, the try is successful. Does the basket count. Yes-No
 
3. A1’s try is in flight, A3 fouls B3, the try is successful. Does the basket count. Yes-No
 
4. Dunking is the driving, forcing, pushing or attempting to force a ball through the basket with the hand(s). T-F
 
5. Name “2” situations where points are awarded?
 
 
 
Answers:
1. Yes- 4-11- Teaching Point- Lift your eyes when officiating off the ball. 
2. Yes- 6-7-Exception-a &c- Teaching Point- Review Live Ball & Dead Ball. 
3. Yes- 6-7- Exception-a- Teaching Point- Review Live Ball & Dead Ball. 
4. True-4-16- Teaching Point-Master Definitions. 
5. Goal-Tending and Basket-Interference by the defense. 5-2-4. Teaching Points- Learn to navigate the rule book. 
 
_._,_._,
_._,_._,_

NFHS Post

7/22/2024

 
​NFHS Edition
1. B2 bats the ball off of A1’s leg and the ball goes out of bounds. A1 caused the ball to go out of bounds. T-F
 
2. A1 attempts to pass the ball to A2, but the ball strikes the Center Official who is standing inbounds and the ball deflects out of bounds. A1 has caused the ball to go out of bounds. T-F
 
3. A1 is dribbling the ball in their front court, A1 dribbles the ball off of B3’s knee. B3 has committed a kicking violation. T-F
 
4. A kicking violation must be an intentional and deliberate act. T-F
 
5. A1 is dribbling the ball in their front court, A1 dribbles the ball off of B3’s knee. Team A is still in Team Control. T-F
 
 
 
Answers:
1. True-7-2-1. Teaching Point-See the Whole Play.
2. True- 7-1-2-a-2. Teaching Point- See the Whole Play. 
3. False- 4-29- Teaching Point-Master Definitions.
4. True- 4-29- Teaching Point-Master Definitions. 
5. True- 4-12-3-a-c. Teaching Point- Master Definitions. 
 
_._,_._,_
Groups.io Links:You receive all messages sent to this group.
View/Reply Online (#1501) | Reply To Group | Reply To Sender | Mute This Topic | New Topic
Your Subscription | Contact Group Owner | Unsubscribe [[email protected]]
_._,_._,_

Things to Work On

7/9/2024

 
1. When there are multiple free throws, the Lead Official does not stand next to the last player on the first free throw of two free throws, or the first or second of three throws. The Lead is always 4-6  feet back from the end line.

2. When there is a foul in the back court and the bonus is not involved, the calling official will report the foul and go back to their original spot. The other two officials will slide down the floor.

3. When reporting a foul have a cadence to the table. Keep your number(s) near your eyebrows. 

4. Right now, there is no closely guarded count for closely guarding dribbling scenarios in the front court when a shot clock is involved for MPSSAA games. Only have a closely guarded count when a player is holding the ball in the front court and the defender is within “6” feet. 

​5. When calling an out of bounds violation, do not use two hands. For example, one hand to stop the clock and the other hand pointing. 

NFHS Quiz

7/9/2024

 
NFHS Edition
1. During a loose ball, A5 uses their legs to secure control of the ball. This is a kicking violation by A5. True or False?

2. A1 is in the act of shooting on a drive to the basket and defender B1 pushes them in the back which causes A1 to travel  prior to scoring a successful basket. The officials disallow the basket as A1 committed a traveling violation and award a throw-in to Team A at one of the four spots. True or False?

3. B5 blocks A3’s shot into the backcourt and the ball is recovered by A1 at 1:23 of the 4th quarter. A1 immediately grants a timeout. Team A will receive the ball at one of the four spots in the front court. True or False?

4. B5 illegally contacts the screener, A5, after A1 has started their dunk that is successful. Team A is in bonus. The basket by A1 should be scored and A5 will attempt one free throw. True or False?

5. A5 is fouled while going for a rebound  and accidentally hits their head against a teammates elbow. Team A is in the bonus. A1 is injured and cannot shoot. A1’s substitute will shoot the bonus. T-F



Answers:
1. True-4-29. Teaching Point- Master Definitions
2. False- 10-Penalty-5a, 4-41-4. Teaching Point- Be ready for the unexpected.
3. False- 7-5-3-b. Teaching Point- Know the Status of the ball and be detailed oriented.
4. False- 4-8-1-a. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences.
5. True-8-2. Teaching Point-Know Rule Differences.

NFHS Quiz

7/4/2024

 
NFHS Edition
1. A1 attempts a try that touches the ring. The try  lodges in the ring, the game should be resumed with the AP Arrow. T-F

2. A1 sets a screen out of bounds on their end line in their front court, so A3 can get around B3. A1 makes contact on B3. The official shall rule a :
A. Team Control Foul on A1.
B. A technical foul on A1.
C. A violation on A1. 
3. A5 is dribbling the ball in their front court when the trail official stops play because A3 is injured. Team A can request a time out to keep A3 in the game. T-F

4. When a player has the ball, the defender must give the offender one to two strides depending upon the speed and movement of the offender. T-F

5. An official may use the 10 second count to ascertain a timing error. T-F



Answers:
1. True- 6-4-4-d. Teaching Point- Know your resumption of plays.
2. A-CB-4.40.2. Teaching Point- Be ready for the unexpected. Read “5” Case Book plays every day. 
3. True- 3-3-6. Teaching Point- Have Substitution Awareness. 
4. False- 4-23-4-a. Teaching Point- Master Definitions.
5. True- CB-5.8.3.Situation.D. Comment. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness.

NFHS Quiz

7/1/2024

 
​NFHS Edition
1. A1 goes out of bounds in their front court to avoid a “3” second violation. The Lead Official rules a technical foul on A1. T-F

2. A3 is bleeding while dribbling the ball up the floor. The trail official stops play. Team A has 20 seconds to remedy the situation. T-F

3. In question #3, if Team A cannot remedy the situation in 20 seconds, they have two options. What are the two options. T-F

4. A1 and B1 begin fighting in the post when A3 is dribbling the ball in their front court. A1 and B1 are disqualified for fighting. Where is play resumed?

5. What type of foul occurred in question #4.
A. Double Personal Foul.
B. Double Technical Foul.
C. Flagrant Double Personal Foul.


Answers:
1. False- 9-3-3. Teaching Points- Study Violations.
2. True- 3-3-7. Review New Rule Changes.
3. Team A may take a time out or substitute for A3. 3-3-3-7. Teaching Point- Review New Rules. 
4. Point of Interruption, at one of the four spots in the front court. 4-36-2-a-1. Review Point of Interruption.
5. C- 4-19-1, 4-19-4, 4-19-8-a. Teaching Point- Review Definitions. 

    Al Battista

    Al Battista is regarded as one of the most knowledgeable experts in the field of basketball rules at all levels.  In addition to this, he is a well-known clinician and observer of officials.   Currently, he is Maryland State and Board 12 Interpreter for scholastic basketball.  He has served as an officials’ observer for the NBA and WNBA and is currently the NBA chief scout for officials in the Northeast USA.

    Archives

    May 2025
    April 2025
    March 2025
    February 2025
    January 2025
    December 2024
    November 2024
    October 2024
    September 2024
    August 2024
    July 2024
    June 2024
    May 2024
    April 2024
    March 2024
    February 2024
    January 2024
    December 2023
    November 2023
    October 2023
    September 2023
    August 2023
    July 2023
    June 2023
    May 2023
    April 2023
    March 2023
    February 2023
    January 2023
    December 2022
    November 2022
    October 2021
    November 2020
    October 2020
    September 2020
    August 2020
    July 2020
    June 2020
    May 2020
    April 2020
    March 2020
    February 2020
    January 2020
    December 2019
    November 2019
    October 2019

    Categories

    All

Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.