IAABO Board 12 Officials
  • Home
  • About Us
  • Rules & Interpretation
  • Training & Development
  • For Members

NFHS Quiz

3/26/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
1. The official is ready to toss the ball to begin the game. A5 who was on the center restraining circle backs off the circle. The U1 rules a jump ball violation. T-F
 
2. The official is ready to toss the ball to begin the game. A5 moves on the center restraining circle into an unoccupied spot.  This is legal. T-F
 
3. A period is over when the game clock shows 0:00 and the horn has not sounded. T-F
 
4.  On a dead ball, A5 taunts B5 and then B5 throws the ball at A5. Team B will attempt two free throws, then Team A will receive two free throws and the ball at the division line away from the table. T-F
 
5. A technical foul is an intentional or flagrant contact while the ball is dead, except a foul by the airborne shooter. T-F
 
 
Answers:
1. False- CB-6.3.2.(a). Situation- Teaching Point-Read 5 Case Book plays every day. 
2. False- CB-6.3.q.(b). Situation- Teaching Point- Start your game correctly.
3. False- 5-6-2. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences. 
4. True- 4-19-9. Teaching Point- When the ball is dead be alive. 
5. True- 4-19-5. Teaching Point- Master Definitions. 

NFHS Quiz

3/19/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
1. B1 fouls A1. Team A is in the bonus. Just before A1 goes to the free throw line for the bonus, the official observes A1 untucking their shirt. Handle the Situation?
 
2. In question #1, if A1 makes their final free throw, can Team B run the end line. Yes-No
 
3. In question #1, if A1 makes their first free throw and misses their final free throw, can Team B run the end line. Yes-No
 
4. Guarding an opponent with the ball or a stationary opponent without the ball, no time or distance is required to obtain an initial legal position. T-F
 
5. A timeout can be requested by the:
a. The Head Coach.
b. Assistant Coach.
c. a & b.
 
 
Answers:
1. A1 will be directed to tuck their jersey in. A1 must  leave the game immediately following the last free throw. The free throw lane spaces are cleared for the free throws. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in. CB-3.3.5. Situation A- Teaching Point- Read 5 Case Book plays every day and have common sense. 
2. Yes- 7-5-7. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness. 
3. No-7-5-7. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness. 
4. True- 4-23-4-a. Teaching Point- When a player is dribbling the ball officiate 70% defense and 30 % offense. 
5. a-5-8-3. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness. 

NFHS- Excellent Quiz by Goht Van Den Brink

3/8/2025

 
Situation: During the 2nd quarter, A1 is fouled but is erroneously not awarded two bonus free throws. Instead, Team A is given a throw-in. Thrower-in A1 inbounds the ball to A2, and a held ball occurs. The AP arrow is pointing towards Team A. True or False ?Q1: This is a correctable error situation, and it is within the time frame to correct it. 
Q2: A1 will be awarded the two bonus free throws.
Q3: Players will line up for the free throw, and the game will resume after the second shot.
Q4: The possession arrow will not change, and Team A will retain the AP arrow. 
Q5: If the AP arrow had been pointing to Team B instead, how would the situation be handled?
Q1: True (Rule 2-10-1a, 2-10-2) Failure to award a merited free throw is a correctable error. The officials must recognize the error no later than the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. In this case, the clock starts when A2 and the opponent touch the ball, and it stops when the held ball occurs.
Q2: True.
Q3: True (Rule 2-10-6) Once the error is corrected, play resumes from the point of interruption unless the correction involves awarding merited free throws and there has been no change in team control since the error. In this case, because Team A retained the AP arrow, play will resume as it would after any free-throw attempt.
Q4: True (Case Book 2.10.1 Situation C)
Q5: A1 would shoot the bonus free throws with no players lined up, and Team B would receive the ball for an AP throw-in. (Case Book 2.10.1 Situation C)

NFHS Quiz

3/8/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
Situation:
During a 30 second timeout, A6 goes to the scorer to substitute for A1:
1. The substitution occurs before the 15 second warning signal. The substitution is allowed. T-F
 
2. The substitution occurs after the 15 second warning signal, but before the timeout is over. The substitution is not allowed. T-F
 
3. The substitution occurs as the players break the huddle and take their position on the court. The substitution is not allowed. T-F
Situation:
A time out is granted to Team A with play to resume by administration of a free throw.
4. A6 reports to enter the game after the timer’s warning signal has sounded. A6 cannot enter the game. If either team is granted another timeout, A6 is allowed to enter the game. T-F
 
5. A6 reports to enter the game after the timer’s warning signal has sounded. A6 cannot enter the game. Team A is willing to put A6 into the game with a technical foul. This is permissible. T-F
 
 
Answers:
1. True-3-3-1. Teaching Point- Have substitution awareness. 
2. True-3-3-1. Teaching Point- Have substitution awareness. 
3. True-3-3-1. Teaching Point- Have substitution awareness. 
4. True-CB-3.3.1 Situation B- Have substitution awareness. 
5. False-CB-3.3.1. Situation B- Have substitution awareness.

NFHS Quiz

3/2/2025

 
​NFHS Edition
1. Three 60 second and two 30 second timeouts may be charged to each team during a regulation game. T-F
 
2. Each team is entitled to one additional 60 second time out during each extra period. Unused timeouts do not accumulate into the overtime period. T-F
 
3. Team A is granted a 60 second timeout. After 15 seconds, Team A is ready to play. Team B is not ready to play. Since Team A was granted the timeout. The game will resume. T-F
 
4. During a 30 second timeout, no on court entertainment shall occur during this time. T-F
 
5. If a correctable error is not prevented or rectified, the team that requested the correctable error is charged with a timeout. T-F
 
 
 
Answers:
1. True-5-11-1. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences.
2. False-5-11-1. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences.
3. False-5-11-2. Teaching Point- Know Rule Differences.
4. True-5-11-3. Teaching Point- Have Court Awareness.
5. True-5-8-4, 5-11-4. Teaching Point- Be detailed oriented
_._,_._,_

    Al Battista

    Al Battista is regarded as one of the most knowledgeable experts in the field of basketball rules at all levels.  In addition to this, he is a well-known clinician and observer of officials.   Currently, he is Maryland State and Board 12 Interpreter for scholastic basketball.  He has served as an officials’ observer for the NBA and WNBA and is currently the NBA chief scout for officials in the Northeast USA.

    Archives

    June 2025
    May 2025
    April 2025
    March 2025
    February 2025
    January 2025
    December 2024
    November 2024
    October 2024
    September 2024
    August 2024
    July 2024
    June 2024
    May 2024
    April 2024
    March 2024
    February 2024
    January 2024
    December 2023
    November 2023
    October 2023
    September 2023
    August 2023
    July 2023
    June 2023
    May 2023
    April 2023
    March 2023
    February 2023
    January 2023
    December 2022
    November 2022
    October 2021
    November 2020
    October 2020
    September 2020
    August 2020
    July 2020
    June 2020
    May 2020
    April 2020
    March 2020
    February 2020
    January 2020
    December 2019
    November 2019
    October 2019

    Categories

    All

Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.