IAABO Board 12 Officials
  • Home
  • About Us
  • Rules & Interpretation
  • Training & Development
  • For Members

NF Quiz

12/3/2023

0 Comments

 
​NFHS Edition
1. A1 is attempting their last free throw. The Center Official notices that A1 has blood on the uniform. If the trainer adjudicates that the blood is not saturated A1 can attempt their free throws. T-F

2. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble. T-F

3. During an interrupted dribble  a time out request can be granted. T-F’

4. Team A is celebrating  a one-point victory just after the final horn sounds to end the 4th quarter. As the officials are walking past Team A’s bench, the Assistant Coach of Team A yells profanities at the officials. The officials rule a direct technical foul on the  Assistant Coach of Team A and an Indirect Technical foul on the Head Coach of Team A. Team B will be awarded two free throws, which will determine the outcome of the game or whether an overtime period is required. T-F 

5. The jurisdiction of the officials is terminated and the final score has been approved when all officials leave the visual confines of the playing area. T-F




Answers:
1. False- 3-3-6. 
2. True- 4-15-5.
3. False- 4-15-6c.
4. True- 2-2-4.
5. True-2-2-4.




Teaching Points:
1. Review Rule Differences.
2. Be ready for the unexpected.
3. Review player control vs. team control.
4. Penalize unsporting conduct.
5. Review Penalties.
0 Comments

Happy Thanksgiving

11/23/2023

0 Comments

 
1. During a 30 second timeout. A6 goes to the scorer to substitute for A1 before the 15 second warning signal. The substitution will be allowed. Yes-No. 

2. A3 intentionally fouls B3 during a dead ball. A3 should charged with an intentional personal foul. Yes-No. 

3. A7 comes into the game wearing No. 7 and participates,  Team A’s Head Coach will be charged with an indirect technical foul. Yes-No. 

4. A7 changes their number from No. 7 to No. 32 before entering game. Team A would be charged with a team technical foul. Yes-No. 

5. Team Control Ends when the following occur:
A. A try for field goal is in flight.
B. A tap is in flight.
C. An opponent secures control.
D. All of the Above.


Answers:
1. Yes-3-3-1a.
2. No-4-19-5c.
3. No-10-6-Penalty.
4. Yes-10-1-2c.
5. D-4-12-3.




Teaching Points:
1. Have excellent substitution awareness.
2. Master Penalties.
3. Have excellent dead ball officiating skills.
4. Be ready for the unexpected.
5. Master Definitions.
0 Comments

NF Quiz

11/19/2023

0 Comments

 
​NFHS Edition
1. Team A substitute No. 23 enters the game with approximately 1:00 in the 2nd quarter. The ball is put into play by a throw-in from A1 to A2. The horn sounds and the scorer informs the officials that No. 23 is not in the Scorebook. Team A is charged with a technical foul. T-F

2. In question #1, if the error is discovered at halftime, there is no penalty. If No. 23 decides to enter the game in the 2nd half, No. 23 name and number will be added to the score book and Team A will be charged with a technical foul. T-F

3. Jersey Numbers must be from 1-99. T-F

4. The penalty for an illegal uniform is a team technical foul. T-F

5. Name the “3” types of violations?




Answers:
1. True- CB- 3.2.2. Situation-C. 3-2b, 10-1-2b. 
2. True- CB-3.2.2. Situation-C. 
3. False- 3-4-3d. 
4. False- 10-6-4. 
5. Free Throw, Floor, Basket. Rule-9




Teaching Points:
1. Be ready for the unexpected.
2. Read “5” Case Book plays every day.
3. Be detailed oriented.
4. Master Penalties. 
5. Be observant in warm-ups.
_._,_._,_
0 Comments

10 Second Count- Private Schools

11/14/2023

0 Comments

 
1. A1 is dribbling the ball in their backcourt and is fouled by B1. Team A is not in the bonus. Team A will receive a new 10 second count. T-F
’
2. A1 is dribbling the ball in their backcourt and throws a pass to A3 and B3 intentionally kicks the ball in the backcourt. Team A will receive a new 10 second count. T-F

3. A1 is dribbling the ball in their backcourt and throws a pass to A3 in their backcourt and A3 request and is granted a timeout. Team A receives a new 10 second count. T-F


4. A1 is dribbling the ball in their backcourt. The Trail Official has an inadvertent whistle. Team A will receive the ball at the point of interruption and a new 10 second count. T-F


5. A1 is dribbling the ball in their backcourt. A3 and B3 commit a double personal foul. Team A will receive a new 10 second count. T-F




Answers:
​1-5- They are all True- 9-10- NCAA-(Men). 








0 Comments

Review Quiz

11/7/2023

0 Comments

 

Rule 1:
1. The ideal court dimensions   are _______ . (1 point).
2. The net is 15 to ______ in length. (1 point). 
3. The net is a white cord ____ mesh net. (1 point).
4. A rectangular back board is ____ inches  wide. (2 points).
5. Name the 4 parts of the basket. ( 10 points). 

Rule 2 :
1. When does the officials jurisdiction begin prior to the game. ( 1 point).
2. The officials arrival on the floor shall be at least _____ minutes before the game. (1 point).
3. Name 5 Duties of the Referee: (10 points).
4. Name the 5 Correctable Errors( 10 points).
5. State the formula for the Correctable Errors that deal with free throws. (10 points).


Answers- Rule 1:

1. 84 X 50.- 1-1.
2. 18 inches. 1-10-1.
3. 12 mesh. 1-10-1.
4 . 72 inches. Diagram 2- Rule 1.
5. Ring, Flange, Braces, Net. 1-10-1.

Answers- Rule 2.
1. When they arrive on the floor. 2-2.
2. 15 minutes-2-2.
3. Review- 2-5-1-8.
4. Review- 2-10-1-a-e.
5. Error, Clock Starts, Dead Ball, It must be Corrected. 2-10-2. 
​
0 Comments

NF Quiz

11/5/2023

0 Comments

 
​1. A1 is dribbling the ball in their front court and B1 knocks the ball out of bounds. Team A is granted a time out. Team A will receive the ball at one of the four designated spots. T-F

2. A1 is dribbling the ball in their front court, B1 deflects the ball off of A1’s knee and the ball goes in the back court where A3 picks the ball up. The Trail official rules a back court violation. T-F

3. In question #2, if the ruling is a back court violation, the ball will be put into play at the spot of the violation. T-F

4. Arm sleeves, knee sleeves, lower leg sleeves, compression shorts and tights are permissible. T-F

5. A headband cannot have extensions. T-F



Answers:
1. False- 7-5-2.
2. True- 9-9-1 &2.
3. False-7-5-3-a.
4. True- 3-5-3.
5. True- 3-5-4-b. 




Teaching Points:
1. Be detailed oriented.
2. Be ready for the unexpected.
3. See the whole play and do not guess.

0 Comments

NF Quiz

10/27/2023

0 Comments

 
NFHS Edition
1. A1 throws a pass to A2. While the ball is in flight, A3 and B3 commit a double personal foul. The game will continue with the AP Arrow. T-F

2. A1 goes for a lay-up and scores on the play. After the play is over, A1 slaps the backboard. A1 should be penalized with an unsportsmanlike technical foul. T-F

3. A1 jumps and intercepts a pass. While A1 was airborne, A1 throws the ball to the floor. A1 returns to the floor, catches the ball with both hands and begins a dribble. The Trail Official rules a double dribble. T-F

4. A1 attempts a dunk and the ball goes into the cylinder. A1 is hanging on the ring to prevent injury while the ball is in the cylinder. A1 lets go of the ring, while the ball is still in the cylinder and the ball passes through the basket. The trail official rules offensive basket interference. T-F

5. The bonus will begin with the 5th team foul of each quarter( 2 free throws) and will reset for each quarter except the 4th quarter if the game goes into overtime. T-F



Answers:
1. False- 4-36-2-a.
2. True- 10-4-6-c.
3. True- 4-15-1 & 3.
4. False- 4-6-2.
5. True-4-8-b, 5-7-1.



Teaching Points:
1. Master Penalties.
2. Know your Point of Interruption.
3. Run the game, don’t let the game run you.
4. Master Definitions.
5. Have good court awareness.


0 Comments

NF Test

10/19/2023

0 Comments

 
NFHS Edition
1. A1 is fouled by B1. It’s Team B’s fifth team foul of the quarter. Team A is awarded the ball out of bounds. Thrower-In A3 throws the ball inbounds to A5 who attempts a “3” shot that is successful. Before the throw-in starts the officials are informed of the error.  The following are True Statements:
A. A5’ s “3” point shot will count.
B. A1 will go the foul line for 2 shots.
C. The game will continue with Team B’s ball on the end line with all privileges.
D. All of the Above.
2. If a correctable error is not prevented or rectified a team is charged with a timeout. T-F.

3. If the ball is to become dead when the last free throw for a specific penalty is not successful, players shall not occupy any spaces along the free throw lane lines. T-F

4. The free throw(s) awarded because of a personal foul should be attempted by the _______ player. 

5. If the error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case shall resume as after any free throw attempt(s). T-F




Answers:
1. D- 2-10-1a, 2-10-5.
2. True- 5-11-Exception-a.
3. True- 8-1-3.
4. Offended- 8-2. 
5. True-2-10-6. 



Teaching Points:
1. Always know when a team is in the bonus.
2. Always know your shooter.
3. Be ready for the unexpected.
4. Be detailed oriented.
5. Read “5” Case Book Plays every day.
0 Comments

NF Test

10/10/2023

0 Comments

 
This Test was prepared by Goht Van Den Brink of IAABO #12 and 255

1. Team A comes into the game wearing number 8. This technical foul should be:
A. An administrative technical foul.
B. A technical foul charged to number 8.
C. An Indirect technical foul charged to the Head Coach of Team A.
D. A Direct technical foul charged to the Head Coach of Team A.

2. An identical number is a technical foul charged to one of the following:
A. Direct Technical Foul charged to the Head Coach.
B. Indirect Technical Foul charged to the Head Coach.
C. Technical foul charged to the player.
D. An administrative technical foul charged to the team. 

3. The Assistant Coach of Team B uses a video to show the officiating crew that the ball left the player’s hands before the horn sounded to end the 1st period. This should be penalized with a technical foul to Team B. The technical foul should be an administrative technical foul. T-F

4. Substitute A1 enters the court without reporting to the scorer. The infraction is discovered before the ball becomes live. Handle the Situation?

5. Team A has already been charged with a delay of game warning. After a goal by A5, A1 slaps the ball away after the goal. Handle the Situation?

*6. An excessive time out is a technical foul charged to the Team of The Head Coach that it was granted to. 












Answers:
1. D- 10-4 & Penalty.
2. D- 10-2-e & Penalty.
3. True- 10-1-3.
4. Technical Foul charged to A1. A1 is charged with a personal foul and team foul. Team B will receive 2 free throws and the ball at the division line away from the table. CB-10-3..1

5. Technical Foul on Team A. The foul is charged to Team A and is counted towards the bonus. Team B will receive 2 free throws and the ball at the division line away from the scoring table. 10-2-1-b.

6. Team - 10-2-3.
Sent from my iPad
0 Comments

NF Quiz

10/5/2023

0 Comments

 
​NFHS Edition
1. A1 throws a pass to A2, there is a double foul between A3 and B3. The game will continue with the AP Arrow. T-F

2. A1 is performing a throw-in following a goal by B5. B4 fouls A4 before the throw-in has ended. Team A is not in the bonus. Team A still has all privileges to run the end line. T-F.

3. A coaching box may not extend onto the playing court. T-F

4. A dribble begins while pushing the ball to the floor. T-F

5. A1’s dribble is interrupted, A2 requests a timeout, the trail official grants Team A a timeout. T-F



Answers:
1. False- 4-36-2-a-1.
2. True-7-5-7-b.
3. True-1-13-2.
4. True-4-15-3.
5. False-4-12-2-c.



Teaching Points:
1. Review penalties.
2. Know your point of interruption.
3. Enforce the Coaching Box Rule.
4. Master Definitions.
5. Review Team Control.
_._,_._,_
0 Comments
<<Previous

    Al Battista

    Al Battista is regarded as one of the most knowledgeable experts in the field of basketball rules at all levels.  In addition to this, he is a well-known clinician and observer of officials.   Currently, he is Maryland State and Board 12 Interpreter for scholastic basketball.  He has served as an officials’ observer for the NBA and WNBA and is currently the NBA chief scout for officials in the Northeast USA.

    Archives

    December 2023
    November 2023
    October 2023
    September 2023
    August 2023
    July 2023
    June 2023
    May 2023
    April 2023
    March 2023
    February 2023
    January 2023
    December 2022
    November 2022
    October 2021
    November 2020
    October 2020
    September 2020
    August 2020
    July 2020
    June 2020
    May 2020
    April 2020
    March 2020
    February 2020
    January 2020
    December 2019
    November 2019
    October 2019

    Categories

    All

Our mailing address:

IAABO Board 12
10606 Cavalier Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20901

Contact Webmaster
Copyright 2020 by The District of Columbia Approved Basketball Officials Association